Jorgensen Law

Disability Lawyer Fees

Typically, there are no upfront fees and your disability attorney only gets paid if you win your disability case.

Debbie in Hemet, California asks “How much do disability lawyers usually charge?”

“Are there any upfront fees?”

Typically, there are no upfront fees and your disability attorney only gets paid if you win your disability case. If your case is denied, your attorney will not earn any money. This is good motivation for an attorney to work hard to win your case.

A disability attorney will usually receive 25% of your back pay as a fee for representing your case.

Currently, this amount has a maximum cap of $6,000.This fee structure is regulated by the Social Security Administration and applies to all attorneys who represent SSDI and SSI claims. For example, if you were disabled 18 months ago and you are just now being awarded benefits, Social Security will give you “back pay” for the money that you should have been receiving for the past year and your attorney will only receive 25% (a maximum of $6000) of that money as a one-time fee.

The attorney will not take any fees from your future disability checks.

Most Social Security Disability Attorneys will give you a free consultation and will not charge any upfront fees. However, some attorneys might charge you for out-of-pocket expenses like the costs involved in gathering medical records and some attorneys might charge you for their travel expenses. Make sure that you ask questions and read your attorney’s fee agreement first before you sign it.

Statistically, the chances of you winning your disability claim are much higher when you are represented by an attorney. Talk with an experienced disability attorney about your case and schedule a free consultation. Click here for a disability attorney in the San Diego, Los Angeles and Riverside area, serving all of Southern California.